Gaël Varoquaux

Thu 16 July 2009


Announcing the SciPy conference schedule

The SciPy conference committee is pleased to announce the schedule of the conference:

This year’s program is very rich. In order to limit the number of interesting talks that we had to turn down, we decided to reduce the length of talks. Although this results in many short talks, we hope that it will foster discussions, and give new ideas. Many subjects are covered, both varying technical subject in the scientific computing spectrum, and covering a lot of different research areas.

I would personally like to thank the members of the program committee, who spent time reviewing the proposed abstracts and giving the chairs feedback.

Fernando Perez and the tutorial presenters are hard at work finishing planning all the details of the two-day tutorial session that will precede the conference. An introduction tutorial track and an advanced tutorial track, both covering various aspect of scientific computing in Python, presented by experts in the field, should help many people getting up to speed on the amazing technology driving this community.

The SciPy 2009 program committee

  • Co-Chair Gaël Varoquaux, Applied Mathematics and Neuroscience, Neurospin, CEA - INRIA Saclay (France)
  • Co-Chair Stéfan van der Walt, Applied Mathematics, University of Stellenbosch (South Africa)
  • Michael Aivazis, Center for Advanced Computing Research, California Institute of Technology (USA)
  • Brian Granger, Physics Department, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo (USA)
  • Aric Hagberg, Theoretical Division, Los Alamos National Laboratory (USA)
  • Konrad Hinsen, Centre de Biophysique Moléculaire, CNRS Orléans (France)
  • Randall LeVeque, Mathematics, University of Washington, Seattle (USA)
  • Travis Oliphant, Enthought (USA)
  • Prabhu Ramachandran, Department of Aerospace Engineering, IIT Bombay (India)
  • Raphael Ritz, International Neuroinformatics Coordinating Facility (Sweden)
  • William Stein, Mathematics, University of Washington, Seattle (USA)

Conference Chair: Jarrod Millman, Neuroscience Institute, UC Berkeley (USA)

Go Top